9 Sandites remain at State, only slightly behind Broken Arrow and Choctaw


By: Scott Emigh, Editor-in-Chief

The remaining Sandites have about an hour long break before the next round begins at the 6A State Championship in Oklahoma City. 

Charles Page wrestling qualified eleven for the tournament with seven Regional Champions, more than either Broken Arrow or the Dual State Champions from Choctaw. Unfortunately 220 pound junior and Regional Champion Delvin Jordan was unable to participate dropping the number to nine. 

106 freshman Riley Weir (20-12) came in third at Regionals and was pitted against Choctaw's Colt Newton (40-3) in the first round and was pinned in 0:41. From there he was majored 14-4 by Yukon's Braden Fowler and eliminated. 

113 Regional Champion Michael Ritchey (22-16) was defeated in round one by Westmoore's Wes Hardin (31-11) by a narrow 5-2 decision but managed to hold the lead in the next match for a 5-3 victory over Spencer Schickram (14-9) of Ponca City. 

120 Regional Champion Blake Sargent (36-10) went into overtime with Zackery Bibb (24-5) of Capitol Hill and lost 4-2 in the tie breaker round. He fell in an early hole to Justin Gundlach (29-11) of Moore and trailed 3-2 going into the final period, but rallied for a takedown and pin at 5:14 to stay alive in the consolation bracket. 

126 two-time undefeated State Champion Daton Fix (44-0) pinned Bobby Robinson (30-13) of Deer Creek in 1:37.

132 Regional Champion Jack Karstetter (38-7) breezed through his first match with a 17-2 tech fall over Norman's Jeffrey Adams (23-12) in 5:42.  

138 Regional Champion Beau Bratcher (40-6) pinned Choctaw's Jeff Speer (23-10) in 4:48. 

145 Regional Champion Payton Scott (18-4) pinned Westmoore's Trey Painter (32-10) in 3:52.  

160 Regional Runner-Up Zane Basma (32-11) scored an 8-3 decision over Sam Hensley (31-13) of Edmond Memorial.  

170 Trace Fleischman (10-4) placed fourth at Regionals but rebounded big time at State with a 3-1 upset of West Regional Champion Jacob Schimmels (23-6) of Edmond. 

The top three teams are as close now as they have been all season with Broken Arrow at 25.5, Choctaw at 25, and Sand Springs at 23.5.  

The semi finals will begin at 7:15.  

Three Sandites take gold in Broken Arrow

By: Scott Emigh, Editor-in-Chief

The Sand Springs junior high wrestling team traveled to Broken Arrow this weekend to compete in the 19th annual Joe Zamora/Skyler Holman Open. Carter Young, Irwin Portillo, and Tyler Ash each took first place and eight other wrestlers placed fourth or higher. 

6th/7th 80A: Carter Young, 1st Place

  • defeated Zach Prince (Miami) 15-0 tech fall
  • defeated Casey Goss (Broken Arrow) 1:41 fall
  • defeated Cooper Evans (Bristow) 16-1 tech fall

6th/7th 80B: Kaden "KJ" Clark, 2nd place

  • defeated Hayden Rogers (Bartlesville) 0:40 fall
  • defeated Kolton Berry (Fort Gibson) 1:03 fall
  • lost to James Hunter (Muskogee) 3:50 fall

6th/7th 89B: Cody Spaan, 3rd Place

  • lost to Walker Hill (Broken Arrow) 1-0 decision
  • defeated Johan Abercrombie (Broken Arrow) 0:50 fall
  • defeated Beau Hansen (Cascia Hall) 0:34 fall
  • defeated Tanner Cousatte (Pryor) 12-0 major decision

6th/7th 98B: Seth Carson, DNP

  • lost to Blake Salt (Oologah) 1:28 fall
  • lost to Dalton Allen (Broken Arrow) 5-3 decision

6th/7th 132: Santana Naugle, 2nd Place

  • defeated Logan Blood (Bartlesville) 0:57 fall
  • lost to Trey Kitchel (Bartlesville) 0:18 fall

6th/7th 162: Tegen Campbell, 2nd Place

  • defeated Jorey Hollenback (Jay) 10-1 major decision
  • lost to Garrett Graham (Sallisaw) 7-2 decision

Junior High 98A: Hunter Carter, DNP

  • lost to David Boucher (Bartlesville) 1:36 fall
  • defeated Blake Stone (Claremore) 2:58 fall
  • defeated Ethan Strain (Locust Grove) 6-2 decision
  • lost to David Boucher (Bartlesville) 10-1 major decision

Junior High 98B: Russell McCaskey, DNP

  • lost to Kolby Encinas (Pryor) 0:55 fall
  • lost to DJ Anderson (Cascia Hall) forfeit

Junior High 106A: Hunter Hilger, DNP

  • lost to Payton Messenger (Broken Arrow) 0:20 fall
  • lost to Jesse Collinsworth (Coweta) 0:55 fall

Junior High 106B: Chris Jones, DNP

  • lost to Chandler Wing (Fort Gibson) 0:45 fall
  • lost to Dathan Leach (Salina) 6-0 decision

Junior High 106B: Kyler Clark, DNP

  • lost to Hunter Scott (Broken Arrow) 8-1 decision
  • defeated Drew Miller (Broken Arrow) 13-0 major decision
  • defeated Chandler Wing (Fort Gibson) 12-5 decision
  • lost to Hunter Scott (Broken Arrow) 11-6 decision

Junior High 113A: Irwin Portillo, 1st Place

  • defeated Stephen Alcorn (Broken Arrow) 2:51 fall
  • defeated Garrett Weis (Jenks) 18-3 tech fall
  • defeated Caleb Tanner-Cook (Cardinal Wrestling Club) 3:59 fall

Junior High 113A: Colton Roberts, 4th Place

  • lost to Austin Whitaker (Salina) 1:39 fall
  • defeated Isaac Castleberry (Broken Arrow) 1:39 fall
  • defeated Foster Thaxton (Owasso) 10-2 major decision
  • defeated Garrett Weis (Jenks) 0:27 fall
  • lost to Bryce Mattida (Broken Arrow) 1:45 fall

Junior High 113B: Jared Jenkins, DNP

  • lost to Braydon Miller (Broken Arrow) 0:48 fall
  • lost to Simon Young (Sapulpa) 6-0 decision

Junior High 113B: Jacob Reed, DNP

  • lost to Trenton West (Broken Arrow) 0:59 fall
  • lost to Jace Getz (Grove) 10-2 major decision

Junior High 120A: Tyler Ash, 1st Place

  • defeated Alex Andazola (Broken Arrow) 0:43 fall
  • defeated Enrique Hernandez (Owasso) 0:31 fall
  • defeated Christian Webb (Muskogee) 1:12 fall
  • defeated Ty Rozell (Broken Arrow) 9-0 major decision

Junior High 120A: Caleb Phillips, 3rd Place

  • defeated Matthew Skinner (McAlester) 5-3 decision
  • lost to Ty Rozell (Broken Arrow) 5-0 decision
  • defeated Austin Britt (Broken Arrow) 0:43 fall
  • defeated Christian Webb (Muskogee) 1:51 fall

Junior High 120B: Thomas Naugle, DNP

  • defeated Cameron Prieto (Jay) 11-4 decision
  • lost to Randy Mills (Muskogee) 1:31 fall
  • lost to Braden Cook (Broken Arrow) 1:47 fall

Junior High 120B: Preston Medlin, DNP

  • lost to Jordan Berryman (Muskogee) 10-3 decision
  • lost to Cameron Prieto (Jay) 8-0 major decision

Junior High 132A: Braden Dahl, DNP

  • lost to Richee Lee (Owasso) 1:26 fall
  • lost to Blake Hulland (Owasso) 7-2 decision

Junior High 132B: Hunter Lawrence, DNP

  • lost to Zach Conrad (Owasso) 15-0 tech fall
  • lost to Nathaniel Holt (Jay) 2-1 decision

Junior High 140B: David Cooper, 2nd Place

  • defeated Brandon Skaggs (Muskogee) 1:25 fall
  • defeated Wyatt Moyers (Broken Arrow) 0:51 fall
  • defeated Marchell Friday (Broken Arrow) 0:37 fall
  • lost to Zach Coy (Jay) 3:25 fall

Junior High 150: Riley Magee, DNP

  • defeated Logan Sams (Claremore) 2:31 fall
  • lost to Skyler Murphy (Bristow) 1:46 fall
  • defeated Dalton Rogers (Owasso) 1:26 fall
  • lost to Diego Maturino (Broken Arrow) 1:41 fall

Junior High 162B: Justin Smith, DNP

  • lost to Paxton Jenkins (Bixby) 0:44 fall
  • lost to Noah Lettich (Broken Arrow) 11-4 decision