CPHS Baseball: Sandites win 14th-straight for Tournament Championship

Ty Steelman was two-for-two at the plate against Booker T. Washington and scored three runs.

Ty Steelman was two-for-two at the plate against Booker T. Washington and scored three runs.

The Sand Springs juggernaut is showing no signs of slowing down and the Charles Page High School baseball team secured their fourteenth-straight victory in the Championship round of the Spartan/Tiger Turf War. 

The Sandites (18-6) easily handed Booker T. Washington (11-13) an 11-3 loss with a dominant performance at the plate and on the mound.

Riley Rutledge scored Tyler Ash on a double and came in on a ground ball by Kyler Copeland for a 2-0 first inning lead. Wes Omalley scored on an error to get the Hornets on the board in the second inning, but Ash responded by doubling in Kameron Adcock and Ty Steelman.

A pair of errors in the top of the third helped the Hornets cut it to a one-run deficit, but Sand Springs exploded in the bottom of the inning for a 10-3 advantage. 

Kameron Adcock hit a sacrifice fly to score Cale Savage, then Copeland, Lucas Adcock, and Ty Steelman loaded the bases with two singles and a walk. Cal Watkins singled to bring in Malachi Burks and Lucas Adcock, then Rutledge was hit by pitch to reload. Steelman scored on an error, then Braden Askew hit a double to score Watkins and Rutledge. 

Watkins was next up with a double in the fourth inning to bring in Steelman for the final run of the game. 

Ash (2-1) got the win on the mound, pitching three hits, five strikeouts, no walks, and no earned runs in five innings. 

Sand Springs Baseball will return to action Monday at 6:00 p.m. when they host Jenks (12-12, 4-2). The two teams are tied for third place in district action. Sand Springs previously defeated the Trojans 5-1 on Saturday.


Hits: CPHS 9, BTW 3.
Walks: CPHS 6, BTW 0.
Strikeouts: CPHS 3, BTW 5.
Steals: CPHS 6.
Left-on-Base: BTW 3, CPHS 7.
Errors: BTW 3, CPHS 4.

District 6A-3 Standings

8-0 Enid (19-4)
6-4 Broken Arrow (13-13)
4-2 Jenks (12-12)
4-2 Sand Springs (18-6)
2-4 Southmoore (7-16)
1-7 Ponca City (5-19)
1-7 Muskogee (3-20)