Eleven Sandites Take First Place at Coweta Wrestling Tournament

Abraham Flores was one of eleven Team Big wrestlers to take first place at the Coweta Open. (Photo: Scott Emigh)

Abraham Flores was one of eleven Team Big wrestlers to take first place at the Coweta Open. (Photo: Scott Emigh)

Nearly a dozen members of the Sand Springs Team Big elementary wrestling program took first place at last weekend's Coweta Open.

Abraham Flores (7-1) took first place in Division 4 at 110 pounds, scoring a 9-0 major decision against Cameron Braswell and a 16-1 tech fall against Joseph Robbins. Adrian Flores (2-6) took second place, beating Robbins 6-2 and Braswell 5-0.

Balance Johnson (3-0) took first place in Division 4 at 140 pounds, pinning Connor Gough in 0:53 and Cameron Ford in 2:07. He also scored a 16-7 major decision against Micco Jones.

David Ritchey (4-2) took first place in Division 3 at 73 pounds, scoring a 16-0 tech fall against Braxton Cook and pinning Cruz Morrison in 1:47.

Nation Johnson (4-0) took first place in Division 3 at 85 pounds, pinning Bow Rush in 1:10, Daniel Gruenwald in 0:16, and Riley Hicks in 0:46. In the finals he defeated Ty Thrasher by 6-3 decision.

Jaxon Trotter (3-1) won a best-of-three series against Lance Arbona for first place in Division 3 at 100 pounds. He pinned the Ponca City wrestler in 2:40, then won a 9-6 decision. He also took second place in Division 4, pinning Mathew Franklin in 1:16 and Brice Chitwood in 3:00. He scored a 4-0 decision against Cael Eremita, but fell in 1:55 to Catoosa’s Tyler McCall.

Jayden Bussell (3-2) won a best-of-three series against Evan Luna for first place in Division 2 at 67 pounds, pinning the Wagoner wrestler in 3:25 and 3:30.

Ethan Starks (4-2) won the seventy-pound bracket in Division 2, receiving a forfeit from Braxton Floyd and scoring a 12-1 major decision against Glenpool’s Colton Treat.

Promised Johnson (3-0) won the 75-pound bracket in Division 2, pinning Eli Montgomery in 0:35 and Jake White in 2:45. In the finals he scored a 17-2 technical fall against Berryhill’s Max Harland.

Ramone Sparks (4-0) won the 88-pound bracket in Novice 4, scoring an 18-4 major decision against Kaden Boucher and pinning Avery Richey in forty seconds.

Connor Beals (6-1) won his third-straight tournament in Novice Division 3 at 73 pounds. He scored a 10-0 major decision against Braxton Cook and defeated Aeleyah Mumau 9-2 in the finals.

Tyler Feigenbaum (7-0) won his second-straight tournament in Novice 2 at 67 pounds. He pinned Mason Denison in 1:29, Walter Black in 0:39, Jaxon Steel in 2:25, and Laike Barnhart in 1:22.

Kaden Pope (1-1) took second place in Division 3 at 64 pounds, scoring a 15-0 tech fall against Jimmy Groden, but falling 6-2 to Collinsville’s Cayden Cupps. Matthew Moore (5-2) placed third, falling to Cupps in the opening round. He won his way through the consolation bracket with a 7-0 decision against Caleb Thompson, an 11-1 major decision against Groden, and a 6-2 decision against Connor Cox.

Aiden Wilkerson (2-1) took second in Novice 4 at eighty pounds, pinning Drake Blue in 0:21 and Rylie Brown in 0:49, but falling 10-8 to Isaac Valencia in sudden victory overtime.

Brody Wilson (2-1) took second in Novice 3 at 67 pounds, defeating Brody Stevenson 5-2 and William Laffoon 6-4, but falling 3-0 to Ethan Oglesbee in the finals.

Bently Furr (7-3) placed second in Novice 2 at 64 pounds, pinning Jake Weaver in 1:23 and Amos Wright in 1:16, but falling 14-4 to Conlee Curry in the finals.

Chase Kelley (2-4) placed third in Novice 4 at 110 pounds. He pinned Aundray Waller in 1:42 and Rhyley Tripp in 0:13, but fell 6-2 to Joseph Robbins and was pinned in 1:49 by Cooper Thomas.

Blayton Collins (10-6) competed in Novice Division 2 at two different weight classes. He placed fourth at 61 pounds and third at 64 pounds. In the 61-pound bracket he defeated Mikaili Lee 7-5 before getting pinned by Glenpool’s Landon Barber in 2:48. In the consolation bracket he pinned Dylan Cook in 1:59 and Riley Holman in 0:57, and won a 4-1 decision over Hunter Belcher before meeting Barber once again in the finals. This time his opponent came out on top of a 7-1 decision. At 64 pounds Collins pinned Ty Holly in 0:39, Jake Weaver in 1:47, and Amos Wright in 1:42, but fell to Conlee Curry from Jay.

Wes Wilson (5-1) took third place in Novice Division 1 in the forty-pound weight class. He majored Jacob Lonewolf 10-2 but was pinned in 2:44 by Mylum Ache. In the consolation bracket he pinned Ryker Romine in 1:42, majored Brayden Otero 10-0 and Larry Blevins 17-6, then pinned William Thompson in 1:38 in the finals.