CPHS Wrestling: Scott Patton named to All-State East Team, Sand Springs to host

Scott Patton 001.JPG

Charles Page High School senior Scott Patton was named to the Oklahoma Coaches Association All State Wrestling Team Tuesday. He will compete on the Large East team in a dual on July 24th.

Patton went 7-2 as a freshman and placed fifth at the Jay Hancock Memorial. He didn’t compete his sophomore year but earned a starting spot and a 28-20 record as a junior. That year he placed sixth at the Perry Tournament of Champions, 20th at the Kansas City Stampede, fourth at the Bobby Lyons Invitational, and fourth at the Regional Championship.

Patton’s senior year was a dream. He had the best record on the team at 31-2 and won thirty-consecutive matches. He led the team in reversals, was second in takedowns and match points, and fourth in team points. He placed third at Perry, won the Cushing Tiger Invitational, the Jerry Billings Invitational, and the Regional Championship, and placed second at the State Tournament.

His only losses this season were to two-time Kansas State Champion Montez Robinson and two-time Oklahoma State Champion Drake Vannoy. He went 2-1 against Vannoy this season, beating him in a dual and in the Regional finals.

In his career Patton went 66-24 with 24 falls, 3 tech falls, 15 major decisions, 124 takedowns, 175 nearfall points, 61 reversals, and 622 match points.

The All State dual will be held Wednesday, July 24th at 7:00 p.m. at the Ed Dubie Field House in Sand Springs. Patton will meet Duncan’s Hunter Jump (137-15), a two-time State Champion and four-time Finalist at the 5A level.

Large East Roster
Head Coach: Jim Taylor (Durant)
113: David Boucher (Bartlesville)
120: Laif Jones (Bartlesville)
126: Ty Nohelty (McAlester)
132: Reece Witcraft (Broken Arrow)
138: Spencer Schickram (Ponca City)
145: Gage Hight (Glenpool)
152: Ja’Len Hernandez (Union)
160: Scott Patton (Sand Springs)
170: Isaac Strain (Tahlequah)
182: Talon Borror (Coweta)
195: Elijah Tomlin (Union)
220: Korbin McLaughlin (Skiatook)
285: Caleb Orr (Jenks)

Large West Roster
Head Coach: Bobby Cook (Duncan)
113: Dominic Derr (Westmoore)
120: Jayston Cato (Carl Albert)
126: Mitchell Lance (Piedmont)
132: Colt Newton (Choctaw)
138: Cameron Picklo (Mustang)
145: Kobi Gomez (Altus)
152: Kyle Knowles (Edmond Memorial)
160: Hunter Jump (Duncan)
170: Zane Coleman (Choctaw)
182: Christian Maldonado (Lawton MacArthur)
195: Carson Savage (Deer Creek)
220: Jake McCoy (Edmond North)
285: Josh Heindselman (Piedmont)