Sheilah Bright and Scott Palk to be inducted into Sand Springs Education Foundation Hall of Fame

The Sand Springs Education Foundation recently announced its 2019 Hall of Fame inductees. Sheilah Bright (Class of 1979) and Scott Palk (1985) will be honored at the annual Hall of Fame Banquet on Thursday, April 25th at 6:00 p.m. in the Ed Dubie Field House.

The SSEF provides district teachers with grants for special equipment, supplies, and student projects. The Hall of Fame Banquet is one of their biggest annual fundraisers. Table sponsorships are available at $400 for eight seats, and individual tickets are $50. The dinner will be preceded by a silent auction at 5:30 p.m.

To purchase tickets or request further information, contact Tirita Montross at 918-798-1517.

Bright is a forty-year veteran journalist, publishing her first article at 15 years of age. She has contributed to numerous magazines and newspapers and was part of an Emmy Award-winning script-writing team for Narrative Television Network. She was a driving force behind Operation Gold Pride, which raised more than $600,000 for Sand Springs Public Schools. She also recently opened the Bright Morning Farm event center.

Palk graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science from Oklahoma State University in 1989 and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Oklahoma in 1992. He served as an Assistant District Attorney for Cleveland County from 1992 to 2002 and was an Assistant United States Attorney from 2002 to 2011. He has worked as Deputy Criminal Chief and Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council Coordinator. From 2011 to 2017 he was Assistant Dean of Students and Assistant General Counsel at the University of Oklahoma College of Law before being commissioned as a U.S. District Judge. Palk won Prosecutor of the Year awards in 1993 and 2004. In 2011 he was awarded the Director’s Certificate of Appreciation for Assistance to the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Joint Terrorism Task Force.

Hall of Fame inductees are required to have attended Sand Springs Public Schools for at least three years after the Sixth Grade, or to have spent at least eight total years in SSPS, or to have spent the last two years of high school in SSPS and to have graduated from the district.

They must have attained a position of “unusual respect, impact, or influence in the community,” or have attained regional prominence in their field, or to have attained an exception level of accomplishment in their field.

Previous inductees include:

Michael Dale Case
Cleta Evans
Mary Helen Burke (1932)
Tot M. Brown (1934)
Bessie Crawford Zackery (1934)
Opal Clark (1934)
Al Dodson, Sr. (1936)
Marshall Vaughn Perry (1937)
L.W. Welch Jr. (1939)
James A. Sanders (1941)
Johnnie Mae Young (1941)
Marques Haynes (1942)
Robert D. Simms (1943)
Clyde Boyd Jr. (1943)
Erwin D. Phillips (1946)
William R. Pogue (1947)
Charles Gray (1947)
George Everett (1947)
Montie R. Box (1947)
Thomas S. Crewson (1950)
Richard Courter (1951)
William Means (1951)
Charles Marvin Hughes (1952)
Jack B. Johnson (1952)
Jerrold Lawless (1952)
John H. Rudy (1953)
Ken Neal (1953)
Charles Jestice (1953)
Jerry Adair (1955)
M. David Riggs (1955)
Barbara Guynn Smith (1956)
Bennie Osborn (1956)
J. Dean Speer (1956)
John Beck (1956)

James E. Palmer (1956)
Jerry L. Halcomb (1957)
Jan Hagara (1957)
George Paden (1957)
Charles E. Buchner, III (1957)
Billy Allen Hall (1957)
Jerry A. Hanner (1958)
Carolyn Morrow Cheney (1958)
Clarence “Scratch” Purser (1959)
Randal Wayne White (1959)
Harlan S. Pinkerton, Jr. (1960)
Gerrie Holliday (1961)
Ward Sherrill (1963)
Danny Lee McDonald (1964)
William R. White (1965)
Lotsee Spradling (1966)
John Wolf (1967)
Larry Glen Hurst (1967)
Richard Neal (1967)
I.J. Ganem (1969)
Mike Burdge (1969)
Forrest C. Crawford (1970)
Dianne Dinkel (1970)
Chris Thurmond (1971)
Deborah Browers Barnes (1972)
Linda L. Robertson (1973)
Cathy Lynn Burdge (1973)
Janet Rutland Eicher (1975)
John Fitzgerald Blake (1979)
Sam Harris (1979)
Eric Bloom (1982)
Stacey Ford Butterfield (1985)
Timothy Wright (1988)